What Have I Missed – Pluto: Urasawa x Tezuka

To give you an idea of how much manga reading experience I have, let me run down a list of titles I’ve read:
– Cowa!
– Titans: Scissors, Paper, Stone
– Livewires
And although I enjoyed the last two, but I’m not sure those Adam Warren titles count.

So that’s all.  The whole trend/craze/format has completely eluded me.  The long-running format and resultant decompressed storytelling just doesn’t inspire purchases.  Don’t get out your pitchforks and torches yet – I’m not badmouthing manga.  I just haven’t been exposed or seen any manga genre and style that suits my taste.

But I’ve been reading a lot about Pluto: Urasawa x Tezuka and I’m intrigued.

First and foremost – it’s only 8 volumes, and the last one is coming out on April 6, so my worries about pacing and an open-ended never-ending series are resolved.

And by all accounts, Urasawa and Tezuka are masters in the field and well-respected.

But the most intriguing aspect is the concept.  Man and robots coexist but the seven greatest robots in the world have been targeted for murder.  The protaganist is Interpol robot detective Gesicht who has been assigned to the case, and during his investigation he learns that he is one of the targets.

So a suspenseful murder mystery with science fiction elements – sounds good.  I’m a sucker for a good mystery no matter what, but I tend to be more discerning about my science fiction.  A good scifi story helps the reader think about the advances of science and how they create the perception of life.  In a world where human and robots can marry, have children, are they interchangeable in identity?  What does that mean about the value of humanity?  Can a robot be murdered, and if so, is it anything more than turning off a machine?  What makes us human?  Can we be part of human, but created by man?

I’m hard-pressed to think of a good scifi comic, especially one with a suspenseful angle.  I’m intrigued.  But tell me,  what have I missed?

Leave a Reply

